If you own and drive a motor vehicle on the roads in the State of Maryland, you probably know that the law requires you to carry insurance on the vehicle. But do you know how much and what kinds of coverage you are required to carry? The State of Maryland requires vehicle owners to carry the following coverage:
LIABILITY for the payment of claims for bodily injury or death arising from an accident up to $30,000 for any one person and up to $60,000 for any two or more person;
PROPERTY DAMAGE LIABILITY for payment of claims for property of another damaged or destroyed in an accident of up to $15,000; and
UNINSURED MOTORIST equal to the minimum amount of Liability Coverage;
In addition to the above, insurers in the State of Maryland are required to offer coverage for medical, hospital and disability benefits known as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) up to a minimum of $2,500. A vehicle owner can elect to waive this coverage, but we strongly recommend that you not do that. PIP coverage, which is also sometimes referred to as “no-fault insurance,” is available to anyone who is injured in an automobile accident, even the person who caused the accident. It pays for reasonable and necessary medical expenses that arise from a motor vehicle accident as well as 85% of income lost.
 Md. Transportation Code Ann § 17 et seq. and Md. Insurance Code Ann § 19 et seq.
Celeste A. Cunningham is the Senior Personal Injury Paralegal at Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. Celeste can be reached directly at CCunningham@JGLLAW.com or by calling 301-220-2200.
The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.